SIRIUS SATELLITE RADIO UPGRADE RELEASED - Mercedes-Benz Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 03-12-2004, 10:11 AM
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Terrapin Station
Posts: 1,472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
SIRIUS SATELLITE RADIO UPGRADE RELEASED

The sirius kits are out! they are in short supply for 220, 215 and 211 cars, but all others should be easier to get. All '04 models except for the 203 coupes and the 170 cars are pre-wired, this being immediately evident by the presence of the "SAT" button. 163's manufactured before 10/11/03 are also not satellite ready.MSRP is just shy of $700.00 not including installation. I've got a couple so I imagine any other dealer with some pull would have them as well. Any other questions contact me...
PHAEDRUS242 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 03-12-2004, 11:13 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I've got an '02 C32. What would it take to get one of these installed? Would I have to upgrade my COMAND (my COMAND does not have a SAT button, only an empty space where one should be)? Thanks for any info you can provide!
peench is offline  
#3 Old 03-13-2004, 03:45 PM
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 1,950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
You will need to get a 2003 COMAND. The blank button on your COMAND is actually for TV, but it is disabled on North American cars.

2002 C230k, 6 speed, Jaspisblau, Charcoal Leather, C4, C5, C7, Euro COMAND
Lynn is offline  
#4 Old 03-13-2004, 10:48 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynn
You will need to get a 2003 COMAND.
Ouch... that's not very conducive to aftermarket sales of these things... Oh well, there goes that plan.

Thanks for the info!
peench is offline  
#5 Old 03-14-2004, 06:49 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
sirius sat. radio

have been trying to nail down when it will be availible from local dealer. some of them say may. some say they don't know. are these the same exact units. will they be able to install them, since they haven't seen them.
CL55merc is offline  
#6 Old 03-15-2004, 08:21 AM
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Terrapin Station
Posts: 1,472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
the installation is much less complicated than most of the work the dealer techs do every day. on the new cars everything is already pre-wired so there really isn't much to it. even a full on retrofit would not be that complicated. if you don't trust your dealer, wait a little while so they can get one or two under their belts. more likely than not, the owner's car will get the upgrade as soon as the parts are available, so there shouldn't be much cause for concern.
PHAEDRUS242 is offline  
#7 Old 03-15-2004, 01:52 PM
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 1,950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I mis-typed the year in the previous post. You need a 2004 COMAND.

2002 C230k, 6 speed, Jaspisblau, Charcoal Leather, C4, C5, C7, Euro COMAND
Lynn is offline  
#8 Old 03-19-2004, 09:30 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Have you seen the antenna? Where is it mounted & what does it look like? Is drilling involved? Does it look "aftermarket" or like a "factory" installation?

\'04 E 500 Pewter/Stone
barry45RPM is offline  
#9 Old 03-21-2004, 10:25 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by barry45RPM
Have you seen the antenna? Where is it mounted & what does it look like? Is drilling involved? Does it look "aftermarket" or like a "factory" installation?
From what I understand the installation requires drilling through the trunk lid and the antenna is installed on the trunk. It looks like the same flat, somewhat thick antenna used for all satellite installs. How it looks will most likely depend on who does it.
peench is offline  
#10 Old 09-06-2004, 10:01 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Capt_Paul
Satelit Install on my 2005 C230K

I just had the Sirius satelite option installed in my car last week. $679 for the part and about 4 hours labor. Came out to $1178 in the end.

I have xm radio installed on my othe car (Grand Prix) and I love it. So far, I like the Sirius also.

The antenna is mounted on the trunk. It is about 1" wide, 3" long, and 1.5" high.
Capt_Paul is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Enthusiasts Forums > General Mercedes-Benz


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome