My E320 doesn't recognize my key - Mercedes-Benz Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 10-02-2005, 06:52 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
My E320 doesn't recognize my key

Hi everyone, I'm really new to the mercedes scene. I actually picked up one that was flooded, but got an amazing deal on it. Now I'm trying to get it working.

My problem is when I put in my smartkey the car won't start, actually it seems like it won't recognize it at all. When the key is in I hear the steering wheel unlock and the speedometer display illuminates with the current temp and mileage. Most of the electronics work and whatnot, everything that I've found not to be working is electric motors that were killed by the flood.

Both batteries (main in the trunk, and backup under the hood) were dead and replaced. I have done a weeks worth of reading here and all over the internet and cannot find the answer to this. Does the smartkey code need to be re-synced with the car? Could one of the computers have died?

Thank You in advance for everyone's help and support, getting this benz to run will be a tough task, but I believe I can do it.

2004 Mercedes E320
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 10-09-2005, 07:13 AM

smart key? the chip card like key? if it is, then its the keyless go. right? whats the message on the instrument cluster? i have experienced this one and replacing the ESM(electronic selector module) solved it. but cant decide right away coz i haven't gathered much info about the situation. better have it checked using the car scanner. this things about keyless go are so weird sometimes.
#3 Old 10-19-2005, 05:38 PM

No, the Smart Key and Keyless Go are different things. The Smart Key is what was introduced on the 98 or 99 E-Class, no flip-out metal key, just a laser and a removable valet metal key.

Have you tried this valet key?