380SL Rough idle unidentified wire and vacuum hoses - Mercedes-Benz Forum
Mercedes-Benz Forum Mercedes-Benz Forum Header Right

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Enthusiasts Forums > SL/SLK/SLR/SLS Class

BenzForum.com is the premier Mercedes-Benz Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 05-29-2008, 05:46 PM   #1
cjmarinch

Unhappy 380SL Rough idle unidentified wire and vacuum hoses

Being he nice bother that I am, I graciously offered to help my brother with his 1984 380SL. One of his timing guides broke, his chain jumped a link and you know the rest of the story.

I’ve worked on many American and Jap cars before, but this is my first time tearing into a Mercedes. During my spare time and a few months later, I now know why the shop wanted 4-6K for the job.

I labeled most of the wires but was unable to take pics at the time I was tearing it apart. I found a wire and vacuum diagram at the library, but it does not illustrate the parts I’m searching for.

IT RUNS:
Once I got it all back together, it did start up only after a few quick cranks, however, it is running very rough and will not idle. I adjusted the timing and little improvement. During reassembly, I replaced all belt and hoses including vacuum hoses and fittings. I believe I got the valve timing correct during reassembly. I’ve disconnected the Idle Speed Adjuster (electrical connection) and this made no difference. The adjuster appears to be in working order, as the valve opens and closes. My brother said it ran great the day before the vales smashed. It’s been sitting about 7-8 months. Today I’m draining the tank, checking the fuel filter and will try some premium gas with fuel cleaner.

I do have a few questions regarding some wires and hoses I’m uncertain about and hoping someone can help with. I’m not sure if they are related on not but here goes:

MISSING WIRE: