Obd - link error - Mercedes-Benz Forum
Mercedes-Benz Forum Mercedes-Benz Forum Header Right

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Enthusiasts Forums > M/G/GL/GLK Class

BenzForum.com is the premier Mercedes-Benz Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2012, 07:23 AM   #1
sun-sense
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Vehicle: 2002, ML320
Location: Florida
Posts: 7
Obd - link error - FIXED AND CLOSED

So, the 2002, ML320 stops when it get's hot and won't start (the engines turns and tries but judders and all the lights come on). After 20 mins or so, it starts right up but after 5-10 minutes, the engine shuts down again. I suspect the CPS (Crankcase Positioning Sensor).

I borrow someone's several years old scanner but it doesn't connect. OK - I should get a scanner as all post 96 cars need this device and check the forums and decide on the Actron CP-9580a.

Try it on auto ID and all I get is 'LINK ERROR'.

Try it on manual. Select European, 2002, truck (yes, they class it as a truck), mercedes, and there it is, ML320, so I select it. Long wait for 30 odd seconds and then 'LINK ERROR'. - Sigh.

I've looked at the pins. The ones that are there look flush. I know that a couple of years ago, the mercedes dealer used one as they told me the there were no codes (which was good) after some work.

I'm going to order the 'Bosch 0261210170 Crank Position Sensor' via amazon, $40 + $3.99 next day as I have been off the road since Thursday.

So where do I start looking for the OBD 'Link error' problem ?

Last edited by sun-sense; 02-27-2013 at 07:20 AM.
sun-sense is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-11-2012, 09:21 AM   #2
sun-sense
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Vehicle: 2002, ML320
Location: Florida
Posts: 7
Update: I found some docs on OBD and checked between pin 4 (Battery ground) and pin 16 (battery +) and its good, so no blown fuse. I didn't really expect it as the scanner comes on when I plug it in ie. it draws power from pin 16.

So what should I check next ?

Is their a second diagnostics port in the engine compartment ?

I haven't found one yet.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by sun-sense; 12-11-2012 at 09:42 AM.
sun-sense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 07:04 PM   #3
eric242340
Moderator
 
eric242340's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Vehicle: S320 W220/Zotye 1.3
Location: Jiangsu province China
Posts: 1,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by sun-sense View Post
Update: I found some docs on OBD and checked between pin 4 (Battery ground) and pin 16 (battery +) and its good, so no blown fuse. I didn't really expect it as the scanner comes on when I plug it in ie. it draws power from pin 16.

So what should I check next ?

Is their a second diagnostics port in the engine compartment ?

I haven't found one yet.
The equipment is simply not compatible with your car, I have seen lots of test equipment made here in China and they claim it will work on Benz/BMW etc but it is a real joke.

Change your CPS and that should fix the problem, quite common on this type of engine.
__________________
ERIC
eric242340 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 08:57 AM   #4
sun-sense
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Vehicle: 2002, ML320
Location: Florida
Posts: 7
I managed to find a diagram and checked fuses again.

I had a weird result on fuse 22. Its blackened on one side but checks out on continuity. The voltage was inconsistent. I swapped it out and now have good voltages and now the Actron CP-9580a works (329 PID - Parameter Identification Data codes), but only under manual selection. I'm wondering if there is a loose or bad connection or if was just the fuse. Time will tell I suppose

No codes though.

I ran the engine for 30 minutes and it never stopped.

Not sure this is an intermittent fault and am waiting for the CPS delivery today.

I noted during some of my searches that there is a fan under the fuse box/computer areas that sometimes slows down or fails causing overheating issues. I'll look into this as well.

Any other ideas or comments ?

I have noted that there are a lot of reported intermittent issues that come and go. Time will tell if both problems are permanently or temporarily fixed

Last edited by sun-sense; 12-12-2012 at 10:49 AM.
sun-sense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 09:26 AM   #5
sun-sense
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Vehicle: 2002, ML320
Location: Florida
Posts: 7
Finally...the engine stopped.

The Actron CP9580a gave me...

P0335 mod 1/1 $10 Crankshaft Position Sensor A circuit malfunction - CONFIRMED.

Still waiting for the sensor to arrive.
sun-sense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 09:33 AM   #6
eric242340
Moderator
 
eric242340's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Vehicle: S320 W220/Zotye 1.3
Location: Jiangsu province China
Posts: 1,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by sun-sense View Post
Finally...the engine stopped.

The Actron CP9580a gave me...

P0335 mod 1/1 $10 Crankshaft Position Sensor A circuit malfunction - CONFIRMED.

Still waiting for the sensor to arrive.
Congrats you have a double result.
__________________
ERIC
eric242340 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 11:09 AM   #7
sun-sense
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Vehicle: 2002, ML320
Location: Florida
Posts: 7
Time to finish this thread off.

The CPS came late Wednesday.

Installed it AM Thursday. Took about 10-15 minutes.

Tools used, flashlight, #8 torx socket, 18 inch extension bar, ratchet.

Its half way down the rear right facing the front of the car.

Reach down and disconnect clip. Half undo torx bolt, pull the CPS up a bit, undo the torx bolt all the way. Pull the CPS out retaining the bolt.

Putting it back in. Push in sensor. Rotate so you can see the torx bolt hole. Reach down and finger tight/start the bolt into the whole at least a few threads. Finish with the socket and extension. Clip back on.

Start engine. Turn off and attach the scanner. Clear codes. start engine and run and drive.

Its been 4-days now and no further issues so we can call this thread...

FIXED AND CLOSED.
sun-sense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 08:45 PM   #8
buyobd2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Vehicle: BMW Z4
Location: guangzhou,guangdong,china
Posts: 1
if you are not a professional worker for the car,you would better check your car in the 4-s car shop for professional scan.
buyobd2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Enthusiasts Forums > M/G/GL/GLK Class


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cd error rambo006jr Mercedes-Benz Sedans/Wagons 3 09-22-2010 11:11 AM
Moog Center link/ Drag link from Rockauto 300TE 4MATIC Mercedes-Benz Sedans/Wagons 1 12-10-2009 11:38 PM
master link wcpease Mercedes-Benz Sedans/Wagons 0 05-08-2005 05:08 AM
Allowed Attachement Extensions and Sizes link is broken Roj Off Topic/New Member Introductions 0 01-24-2005 12:50 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:47 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
© AutoGuide