New here with 1982 300SD questions - Mercedes-Benz Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 Old 12-05-2004, 09:49 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
New here with 1982 300SD questions

I purchased a 1982 MB 300SD from ebay that I plan on coverting to biodiesel after I complete some much needed repairs. First off, Im new to doing automotive repair so if there is any reference books/manuals/CDs/etc.. that you recommend would be a big help. So here it goes:

I tried to perform a brake job, however when I put the new pads into the front calipers and tried to re-install them, they didn't line up into the large wear groove from before. Its as though the pads were not long enough to allow the bulk of the pads to reach. These are Bendix calipers, are there special pads for these or some kind of technique to line them up? Or should I just install new rotors as well?

There is an exhaust leak coming from under the filter assembly, maybe the turbo. Is there some place thats prone to leak?

For some reason alot of moisture collects inside the trunk, along the underside of the trunk hood. Literally everythink inside my trunk becomes damp and soaked, even though the car is parked under a carport and kept dry. What is the cause?

On the electrical side, three of the power windows don't work, the tachometer doesn't work, the odometer is broken, the driver's side power seat switches are broken off and not working, the console lights don't work so I can't see the gages when I drive at night, and the headlight switch is stuck in off. How do I go about taking apart the dash, center console and the inside door panels so I can repair these?

The hood release handle is missing and the cable sticks out from under the hood, how do I run the cable back inside the vehicle to where the release handle should be?

Thats all the things I've discovered so far, any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links