Benz Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just joined the forum tonight so I am new at posts. I replied to another section and may have done so in error. Anyways, I just purchased and installed a K&N filter in my 2004 C230 Sport Sedan 10 minutes ago and then decided to look for info on a forum and found this one. I read a post that said this was not a good idea due to mas air flow sencor malfunctioning. I immediately went back out and removed it and reinstalled the stock filter. I did take the car for a drive about 2 miles and found more engine noise and no real change in power. My "?" is does anyone think I did any damage during my test drive? K&N is out for good.

Thank you

·
Registered
28 Posts
It would be normal to hear more "noise" from you're engine simply because it is breathing more air in. I've read some bad things about K&N air filters. They let more particles of dirt in than stock paper filters which can damage your engine. Accel makes Kool Blue air filters that are similar to K&N, but use more layers of cotton gauze to prevent dirt from getting in your engine. Fram also makes a K&N type filter. Haven't heard much about them. I would recommend the Kool Blue.

·
Registered
28 Posts
This is true that no damage should have happened. I would try to take the K&N back and tell the place you got it from that it made your car run bad.
The oil could cause a mass air sensor malfunction, but it can easily be fixed by taking the sensor off and cleaning it with electrical cleaning spray that you can find at any auto parts store. The oil can collect on the sensor and attract dust which will cause a false reading. If you don't mind cleaning the sensor every oil change, I would get a Kool Blue air filter.

·
Registered
4 Posts