Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
1,467 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I frequent a few other forums during my day, and it strikes me as sort of weird that our "off-topic" area isn't used much, as it seems to be one of the more popular areas elsewhere.

So here's my "off-topic" stuff.

I just moved into a new loft downtown that was pre-wired for 7.1 channel digital surround. Up until this point in time I had been running a pretty nice 5.1 setup (Onkyo Integra Power, Rotel SACD/DVD, Polk SRT speakers and a Bob Carver True Sub), but wanted to more fully utilize the new space. So as of last night I wired in a new Denon 3805 7.1 channel that absolutely rocks with a nice set of new Jamo speakers and a Jamo sub (the old stuff's going in the bedrooom now). So I'm all psyched about the new sounds (I was an in-home theater consultant before I started on with MB).

So, to complete the benzforum off-topic experiment, any opinions? What are you guys running out there?

·
Registered
1,950 Posts
My opinion is that you have a great system. I don't have a home theater set up. My dying Sony TV, VCR, and DVD player feed my 1985 vintage Harman-Kardon integrated amp, which sends the sounds to B&W DM3000 speakers. I don't watch movies very often and the ones I do watch are pre-surround sound, so what I have is good enough for me.

I have thought about getting a home theater system, but I wouldn't use it much. I spent the money on other things. I will probably have to buy a TV in the next year.

·
Registered
1,467 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
My most sincere compliments on the B&W's. Very fine equiptment indeed. The old HK's were powerhouses as well. Well built, great sound and none of the reliability problems that plague the current technologically infused models (kind of like this car company I know).

I still will not purchase an amp without a high quality phono preamp, as all of my best stuff is on vinyl (mostly vintage, some 180 gram Radiohead/).

·
Registered