Benz Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:?:
Hi All,
I just bought a 1998 SLK230 Kompressor. I love it! What I am wondering is what products can I use to keep it looking good. Like, what can I use that is similar to ArmorAll for the dash that is water-based? What is a good car wash, leather treatment, etc. that is not necessarily MB?

The dealership I bought it from said I could use anything I wanted........ that doesn't quite sound right. Can anyone give me some suggestions?
thank you,
~ziza

·
Registered
33 Posts
I've been using Griot's Garage products for about 8 years now. I've never been disappointed with any of their products. They have a lifetime satisfaction guarantee, but I've never had to use it.

I've done my bosses car (sucking up doesn't hurt), neighbors cars, etc. All look professionally detailed when done. Even the ones in 'rough' shape when starting. Just did our cars this past week. My wife's '99 Passat looks better than new, and the Black C230Sport is perfect.

My recommendation is to get a Porter Cable random-orbital buffer (not a 12 volt unit from an auto parts store). Using this buffer provides a much better job that you can do by hand, and it makes it much quicker and easier to polish/wax the car. Without it, I don't think that you can achieve perfection.

As for vinyl/rubber dressings, try from Griot's. The finish is a satin finish - and the dash or tires look like new (NOT like someone smeared vaseline on them).

Other great products for maintaining you Benz are: Klasse, Xymol, Meguire's, Zaino.

All of these companies produce top quality products. If you pick from one of these companies, you can't go wrong.

Try www.Griotsgarage.com, www.zainostore.com, www.properautocare.com.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks!