Benz Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sorry to bombard the forum w/ questions, I'm new at this.

So I'm looking at the tires, and I'm not seeing a whole lot of tread for the frozen stuff. (It looks like it's still on factory originals.) So I'm thinking of getting another set of wheels, and mounting winter-based tires on them. Then I merely swap wheels twice a year as the seasons change.

Questons:

- I have 17" wheels stock, can I go larger? 18"? 20"?
- Are "rugged tires" going to affect the ride any?
- Will changing tires (and possibly wheel size) affect the warrenty?
- Am I missing/forgetting anything?

Sorry again for the list of questions, but I want to make sure I can manuever the white roads w/o fear.

Thanks,
-Buzz

·
Registered
1,467 Posts
Stick with 17's for winter use. Best tractability in the snow. Rugged/winter tires will definately effect what you feel while driving. They will be much noisier/vibrate more but will be so much better in the snow.

You can definately go with larger rims for summer. Larger diameter rims will also exact a bit of a penalty in the area of ride quality. They are heavier and you will likey have a much smaller sidewall as well. I've seen 20" rims on ML's fairly often around me, so I don't forsee any problems with the installation. Also, a larger set of rims will not affect your warranty coverage.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Tire SIze

After doing some research, it looks like 16" wheels yield the most options for winter/rugged tires. Can I fit 16" wheels on there and then get a larger tire to maintain speedometer ratio? Will 16" wheels fit around the disc brakes?

Thanks,
-Buzz

·
Registered
1,467 Posts
I don't think 16's will clear your brake calipers. I checked on tirerack.com and they don't show a 16" fitment. If they did fit they might look a little too small, but that is a subjective assessment. Were it me I'd stick with the 17's.

·
Registered
26 Posts