Benz Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, newly registered but have appreciated much help from previously covered forum posts over the past couple of months.

Bought a sorta neglected '76 115 chassis 300D a few months ago, and have been doing my best to keep it on the road. I'd rate myself advanced beginner/intermediate with working on cars in general, *absolute beginner* with diesels. So hope you'll bear with some stupid questions...

Car left me stranded in a parking lot in the rain today. Second time. After first time a few weeks ago:

Battery -> New installed
Alternator and voltage regulator -> New installed (old one wasn't getting more than 8 volts to the battery)

Got jump start today, drove home, power available was so low it'd barely turn the windshield wipers. Also noticed a new buzz coming from a silver box relay under the steering column. Don't know if these two things (car won't start and buzzing box) are related. From picking thru some online parts catalogs, I'm thinking this box might be a glow plug relay. Has numbers: SK 9160, 000 545 9032, and "12V max 60A." It's bolted with a bracket under the steering column area. And last piece of evidence, it was warm to the touch -- not hot, just warm.

So the questions;

Is there anything other than a short that would cause this good battery in conjunction with new alternator/voltage regulator, to lose it's charge?

Where do I begin to look for a short? (i'm afraid of the answers to that one...) Is this [glow plug relay?] a suspect?

Thanks for any help.

·
Registered
9 Posts
In general do the following.