Benz Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, I'm a newbie. I'm thinking about trading in my Infiniti for a '97 or '98 C230. I've seen many in my area with low miles and good prices. What should I look for when I'm inspecting this vehicle? What are common problems? Are these vehicles reliable? (I'm coming from an Infiniti-10 years of ownership and it has only left me stranded once). I Look forward to your answers.

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
130 Posts
I have a 1997 C280 I have owned nissan maximas and many other cars
I would say with the infinity line, so far my mercedes has had a transmission replacement and the mass airflow sensor go in it I have had it for about 2 months now, I am not to impressed buy the reliability, other wise it looks good handles well and is speed beast,

My best advice is to get an extended warrenty its worth every dollar if something needs to get replaced, get a bumper to bumper warrent it should be around 1500 for one year

Tranny replace ment was 3600CAD that was a deal from a friend
and the mass air flow was 500CAD also a deal from a friend

good luck check the engine and transmission throughly

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I love the way Benz's look (I've always liked them) but maybe I should stick the Japanese Luxury brands. Previous to my Infiniti, I use to own and Audi. It wasn't a great ownership experience. In my first two years of ownership a lot went wrong and Audi custumer service never cared or pretended to car by giving me the run around. My wife currently owns a 2001 Golf GLS. Her ownership experience has been nothing to write home about either. Lots of mechanical issues and VW customer service that is indifferent. As a result I'm a bit leery towards European luxury brands.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Europe vs Asia...

Just my $.02...