Benz Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Generally speaking, can a non-turbo injection pump be used in a boosted application ?. Do the non-turbo pumps have the pressure sensing capability to richen the fuel in accordance with the manifold pressure ? (I've read as much as I could find on the operation of the "ALDA" etc.).

I have the opportunity to buy either a 300D or 240D non-turbo engine, but I will certainly need to boost them for my application (particularly the 240D). Providing boost is not a problem for me, but it may not be worth it if I need to find a decent turbo'd pump.

Thank You

·
Registered
64 Posts
Let me begin by admitting I am NOT a mechanic in any way, shape, or form. That being said...When I purchased my 240D, I was curious about the possibility of putting a turbo on it. I found an article (May '83 Car & Driver, I think) about a calloway turbo put in an '83 240D. Nowhere in the article did they mention anything about "upgrading/replacing" the injection pump. Because of this, I would assume the injection pump for a non-turbo vehicle WOULD be sufficient.

Good luck.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the info

Your info does seem to lend support. I think the aneroid for barometric correction found on the later model pumps may provide enrichment that follows at least some turbo boost. I am considering the same on a non turbo 5 cyl as I have got both engines at my disposal. The non turbo five apparently does not have as sophisticated of an oiling system (squirters) but I only intend to use mild boost.

For those of you that may be upset that I am committing a crime against Mercedes cars by robbing them of engines, please understand the engines here greatly outlast the cars which are well beyond saving !

Gary

·
Registered
66 Posts
application

just out of curiousity, what are you using the engine(s) for ?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for your interest,